Confessions from a Classics Lover

– Enlace a artículo –
Dear Classical Wisdom Reader,

I have a confession to make.

When I first started Classical Wisdom over 10 years ago, it had already been a long time since I had initially studied the classics. My days of ancient Greek and readings of Homer and Aristotle were safely assigned to my college years. And my subsequent time was spent studying other books, subjects and languages, trying my hand at different careers and basically attempting to make my way in the world… How much of the ancients did I actually remember?

While I was excited to get back into the classics, I was also very nervous. Because, let’s be honest… learning -or relearning- the classics can be a daunting process. Where does one start? There is so much history, such great depth of knowledge, it can quickly become overwhelming.

How does one tell the dramatists apart, for instance? To know Sophocles from Aeschylus from Euripides…

What are the key differences between Socrates and Plato? Where does the one end and the other begin? And where exactly does Aristotle fit in?

Which historian do we trust? What do we learn from Herodotus or Thucydides?

Who was Homer, really?

These questions need to be asked, because the answers form a true foundation of the classics… but they can also be easily forgotten over time…

As the old saying goes: if you don’t use it, you lose it.

In fact, I found myself learning -or should I say relearning- all these answers in the process of creating The Essential Greeks… from the initial brainstorming process to watching the final videos. Now I feel like the information is completely solidified in my mind.

You may be asking, what is The Essential Greeks?

Well, to put it succinctly, it is an enjoyable way to bring the ancients to life as well as give you a solid foundation in some of the greatest thinkers, poets, and historians that ever lived. It is…

A ten part video course, The Essential Greeks aims to give you a complete understanding of the most important and influential Greeks.

Each module is broken into four easy-to-watch segments and comes complete with downloadable reading materials, transcripts, and lesson recaps.

The course comes with The Essential Greeks Anthology, a perfect compendium with the original texts to bring full light to the ancient Greeks… as well as a complete collection of the essential Greeks’ biographies.

In addition, you get access to the Essential Greeks discussion board, a virtual classroom where questions, ideas and thoughts can be exchanged.

I’m glad we here at Classical Wisdom put this course together… and I sincerely hope it helps you as much as it did me.

So, if you are ready to learn -or relearn- the ancient Greeks… then do so today:

Read More Here

All the best,

Anya Leonard
Founder and Director

Classical Wisdom

Artículo*: Classical Wisdom

Más info en https://ift.tt/bscJa3H / Tfno. & WA 607725547 Centro MENADEL (Frasco Martín) Psicología Clínica y Tradicional en Mijas.
#Menadel #Psicología #Clínica #Tradicional #MijasPueblo

*No suscribimos necesariamente las opiniones o artículos aquí compartidos. No todo es lo que parece.

Deja un comentario